Skip to content

novel ideas

October 23, 2011

A friend asked me if I was planning to write more about Nanowrimo, which reminded me that I’ve changed what I’m going to be writing about. It will still be speculative fiction, but shading towards science-fiction. Before, my main character was an earthworm, but I was stuck about the plot. Now, I have a plot, and am assembling a cast of characters (none of whom are earthworms).

I don’t even have a working title yet, which I think I need before I update my account on the Nanowrimo website.

I’m not quite ready to go public with my plot, but instead, here’s a list of books I’ve read that played a part in the ideas I’ve come up with:

  1. Allies and enemies: how the world depends on bacteria, by Anne Maczulak
  2. Ape house: a novel, by Sara Gruen
  3. Biomimicry, by Janine Benyus
  4. Emergence: the connected lives of ants, brains, cities and software, by Steven Johnson
  5. Fire logic, by Laurie J. Marks
  6. Gibbon’s decline and fall, by Sheri S. Tepper
  7. Native tongue III, by Suzette Haden Elgin
  8. Postcolonialism: a guide for the perplexed, by Pramod K. Nayar
  9. Starbridge (#1), by A.C. Crispin
  10. The web of life, by Fritjof Capra
  11. Welcome to the urban revolution: how cities are changing the world, by Jeb Brugmann
  12. Who are we — and should it matter in the 21st century?, by Gary Younge
  13. The Elysium cycle (series), by Joan Slonczewski

I’m exhilarated, intimidated, and very curious to see how this all plays out…

No comments yet

Leave a comment