Skip to content

Dream element: 2.1.2016

February 1, 2016

I only recall one image: a cane toad, bigger than my hand. It was bright blue, with a pattern of white dots, and other (colored) markings that resembled Aboriginal paintings. I held it up to my right ear, which it whispered into. It also licked my ear (possibly as another mode of communication).

The toad was my good friend.

+++

NOTES:

Cane toads [Rhinella marina] are native to North America, but were introduced to Australia for pest management, and became pests themselves. However, real cane toads are brownish grey.

I know amphibians can occur in all sorts of wild colors, but I don’t think I’ve ever personally seen a bright blue toad before. I don’t know how it came by its markings either: were they natural? Had a human being ‘decorated’ the toad? Had it decorated itself?

I’m suddenly getting a trickster vibe.

Bright blue is a positive color for me; white dots on a blue background were strikingly attractive.

I’ve been reading a lot of science fiction lately, including one story set in the Australian bush (although I didn’t read most of it).

= = =

I woke up smiling.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

