Skip to content

The Artist’s Way – exercises 4

March 15, 2013

Week 5, Sense of Possibility

  1. The biggest lack in my life is self-confidence in my own resourcefulness.
  2. The greatest joy in my life is being creative.
  3. My largest time commitment is sleep? Reading books?
  4. As I play more, I work mellower, happier.
  5. I feel guilty that I am finally in a place where I have to concentrate on what works for me.
  6. I worry that no one wants to read my poetry. It’s “too playful” and “not serious”.
  7. If my dreams come true, my family will (a) not notice; (b) who counts as family?
  8. I sabotage myself so people will not expect “too much” of me.
  9. If I let myself feel, I’m angry that I’m 46.5 and only now rediscovering Hibby.
  10. One reason I get sad sometimes is 20 years lost to trauma-onset PTSD; 40 yrs of time with Hibby (awake), lost.

 

What would I try if it weren’t “too crazy”?

  • Go to Alabama/Mississippi/Louisiana myself.
  • Go to Puget Sound myself.
  • Write a book, illustrated with my own photography and other art.
  • Get my poetry published in print.
  • Find friends that are joyful, creative, and encouraging. Who help me improve and meet bigger challenges.
  • Take myself seriously.

 

5 more imaginary lives?

  1. Rock star
  2. Gourmet chef
  3. Creator of crossword puzzles
  4. Rodeo performer
  5. Veterinarian

 

If I were 20 and had money, I’d . . .

  • Live in Europe for a while
  • Immerse myself in another language to learn it
  • Become a sculptor
  • Develop a creative start-up business
  • Collaborate with other artists

 

Synchronicity this week?

The same day I wrote in morning pages that I wanted to find a way to get to Alabama, but not only do I not know anyone in Alabama, I don’t know anyone who’s ever been to Alabama, I received [Friend]’s misdirected-returned-and-re-mailed holiday 2012 card, which mentioned that [family member] lives in Alabama. (So, I do know someone who’s visited Alabama.)

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

