Skip to content

footnote to artist date 4b

March 7, 2013

If it was Spouse doing 4b, he likely would’ve spent the $100, without even thinking about it. How I think of it is that he’s always been middle-class, all his life. But my parents were raised working class, and even though they eventually became middle-class, I wasn’t raised as middle-class. Spouse teases me about channeling my frugal Lithuanian grandmother, but I would agree with her that “throwing money at a problem” often isn’t the best way to deal with it. Ingenuity is better, and certainly, more satisfying.

+++

A few days ago, my hands were noodling with this set of tiny magnetic balls I bought last summer (iirc, for around $20 last summer, that Spouse tells me has been banned). Not only are they soothing to play with, but doing something with them often sparks creative ideas.

purple magnetic balls, hanging from my finger

purple magnetic balls, hanging from my finger

 

 

 

 

purple magnetic balls, sculpture of circles

purple magnetic balls, sculpture of circles

 

 

 

 

Last night, looking on my bookshelves for something else, I rediscovered 2 different sets of magnetic square tiles.

Magnetic Mosaics Junior set, made by The Orb Factory (purchased June 2012)

Magnetic Mosaics Junior set, made by The Orb Factory (purchased June 2012)

 

 

 

 

tile set, unknown maker (purchased c. 2008)

tile set, unknown maker (purchased c. 2008)

 

 

 

 

I foresee many happy hours ahead of me, creating colorful mosaic patterns.

 

And I think I will buy the magnetic poetry kit. Mostly for something to do while I’m waiting for something, and everyone else pulls out their cell phones.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

