Skip to content

artist date 3

February 25, 2013

I did this one piecemeal. I knew I wanted something colorful this week, but was short on ideas. Finally, Saturday, I decided to spend $10 at JoAnn Fabrics on whatever caught Hibby’s attention. Tucked away in a corner, I found 5 solid-color fabrics I really liked — orange, yellow-orange, yellow, light pink, dark pink. I bought 1/2 yard of each, which was exactly $10 before taxes.

That only took about 20 minutes though.

Sunday I was busy with other things. (My first Meetup! Writing poetry.)

Today I did 2 things that I’m counting for last week’s artist date:

  1. I traced various figures from Lynda Barry’s Picture This: The Near-Sighted Monkey Book. The near-sighted monkey herself, twice (including smoking a Don’t cigarette), and her pet chicken. Marlys. Trunk (an elephant-like creature).
  2. I doodled for 40 minutes.  (Doodling was #4 in week 2’s list of 20 Things I Enjoy Doing.) I ended up with one figure that I really like (a squiggly alien with lots of eyes). 3 silly figures made from triangles. An alien snail. A bird. A fish. A human face. Something that looks like a sketch of a Calder mobile. And an ink-colored pencil drawing.

I’ll definitely have to doodle again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

