Skip to content

The Artist’s Way – exercises 1

February 11, 2013

Week 1, Sense of Safety

Blurts:

  1. You’re too old…
  2. ‘Self-taught’ means gaps in your knowledge — you don’t know enough of the Really Important stuff.
  3. Your mind doesn’t work the same as the Real True Artists, so you’re WRONG.
  4. You’re too interdisciplinary because you’re lazy and undisciplined.
  5. You’ll never earn money at writing, or anything else you want to do.
  6. Nobody likes you.
  7. You think too much. You’re too sensitive.
  8. What can you do that’s useful? Are you even good at anything?

Blurts => Positive Affirmations:

  1. As long as I’m alive, I’m young enough to start something.
  2. I’ve learned what really matters to me. And I’ll keep following my nose and fingers!
  3. Any path to art is a good path.
  4. ‘Feeling my way’ without knowing anything is part of the discipline/practice I’m teaching myself.
  5. I believe I can earn money doing something enjoyable.
  6. I have been and am still loved. I will find new people that I will love; some of them will love me back.
  7. I’m unique and I like that.
  8. I’m learning what I can do that’s useful and interesting. I’m good at dealing with uncertainty and failure and surprises. I’m flexible and adaptable. I like change.

Imaginary Lives, week 1:

  • circus performer
  • poet (in Spanish)
  • xenodiplomat
  • pastry chef
  • plant doctor

Imaginary Lives, week 2:

  • geologist
  • conceptual stylist for photo sessions
  • inventor
  • interior designer
  • florist

Week 2, Sense of Identity

10 Tiny Changes:

I would like to . . .

  1. hang up artwork in my studio
  2. finish going through my closet & figuring out what needs to go
  3. [silent retreat]
  4. do Feldenkrais (to learn how to really live in this body)
  5. dance
  6. finish trimming jade skirt, so I can wear it
  7. repair rust-brown linen shell, so I can wear it again
  8. make a yellow garment, and wear it
  9. get muscle car stamps and send mail to myself
  10. get to know Baltimore

 

20 Things I Enjoy Doing (& the last time I did them):

  1. photographing – today
  2. writing poetry – last month?
  3. painting with acrylics – 2011?
  4. doodling – ???
  5. cooking – 2012
  6. walking in the woods – yesterday
  7. eating pear lime jam – 2012
  8. having flowers in my studio – Jan 2013
  9. falling into a really absorbing book – yesterday
  10. wearing fun clothes that match my mood/wyxzi – 3 days ago
  11. going to the library – last week
  12. playing with paper – this past weekend
  13. good conversation with Spouse – today
  14. watching birds in and around Tenimah (maple tree) – today
  15. enough refreshing sleep – last night
  16. interesting dreams that I remember – this morning
  17. looking at cool cars – a week ago?
  18. juxtaposing odd things – 2 days ago
  19. discovering insights into my life – today
  20. feeling a wide range of moods & wyxzi – pretty regularly 🙂
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2013 01:27

    I’m really interested in working with the Feldenkrais method. If you end up doing it, I’d love to hear how you find it. As an actor that’s one thing that I struggle with: being in my body. I’m getting better, but I bet learning something like this or the Alexander Technique would make a huge difference.

    • February 13, 2013 12:54

      Yes, I will definitely write about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

