Skip to content

N: getting lost

November 23, 2011

Never ask the way from someone who knows, because then you can never get lost. ~Baal Shem Tov

I’m no longer on the path I started on. I’ve taken 2 detours, neither of which panned out. I don’t know what I want to say, or whom I want to say it with. I don’t have any idea what I’m doing. So it almost seems like I should give up, and declare this project a failure. And yet… I’ve had an interest in writing fiction for many years, but this project got me sitting down and actually starting. While I have not written every day on my book, I’ve written at least a few sentences 11 days out of 22 (as of yesterday), which is more of a sustained effort than I have put into any other writing project. I’ve discovered all sorts of intriguing ideas that I couldn’t have come up with any other way. I’ve learned a lot about bacteria, and I’m interested in learning more. I’ve talked to and read about biologists who study organisms like hellbenders, tropical frogs, Przewalski’s horses, coatis, native Virginia grasses, and corn plants. I’m starting to read about animal rights and ethics, which I’d always avoided before. I’m reading both fiction and non-fiction differently, trying to discern why some approaches work for me and others don’t; but also, what might I adopt myself? I’m trying to write poetry from a nonhuman persona, which I’ve never tried before.

I am not going to get anywhere near 50,000 words by next Wednesday.

But I’m still fascinated by parts of my premise. I’ve tried all sorts of new things, and a lot of them are bearing fruit.

I got started. And I am continuing, despite not having any idea where I’m going, when I’ll get there, and what I might see along the long way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 16:24

    This gave you a start, but I think there is much room for a more supportive and less adrenaline soaked writing experience. I know that Ana Mardoll is interested in creating a writers forum.

    • November 26, 2011 19:27

      Yeah, getting started was what I really needed, not the specific goal, which was probably always out of reach.

      I’ll have to look into Ana’s group! Thanks for mentioning it.

Leave a Reply

