Skip to content

appetite for books

September 13, 2011

I just read mmy’s post with the same name, and it got me thinking of some of the books I read during last week’s vacation. While at Joseph-Beth Bookstore in Lexington, Kentucky (a beloved independent bookstore), I used some of my birthday money to purchase two books that were highly recommended. One completely knocked my socks off, so much that I didn’t want to put it down to eat or sleep, dreamed about its world for two nights running,and am now re-reading it so I can catch more of the details I missed the first time. (Also the second book in the trilogy comes out later this month, and I’ve already ordered it. Can hardly wait!)

The second book had lots of interesting ideas, some of which were similar to the first book, but they went in vastly different directions. I didn’t care much about most of the characters. The three main storylines hardly hooked up. And I positively hated ( what I could understand of)  the amoral mess of philosophies/ethics guiding the main characters. I had to force myself to finish it. It was only as I was cataloging it on LibraryThing that I discovered that the author (with a unisex-ish name) is a man, and I think that explains (at least part of) why the homage to Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte fell rather flat for me.

(1) Cold Magic by Kate Elliott

(2) The Magicians and Mrs. Quent by Galen Beckett

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

