Skip to content

nocturnal neighbors

August 25, 2011

I continue to ramble around my neighborhood very late at night, several times a week. I have a camera that allows me to take photographs in very low light, like, say, the darkness at midnight. So I often bring it with me to document the neighbors I see, or at least, the less-skittish ones.

Last night I saw my first snake! I followed behind it, watching for cars as it crossed the main street. I took a couple of photographs, but video would have been a better way to capture its sinuous grace. It appears to have been a northern brownsnake.

I also saw a medium-sized toad, a medium-sized black spider, a slug, and one bat.

Three nights ago, I saw one tiny frog, two large toads, and 2 skinks. Those were the first skinks I had ever seen, so I wasn’t quite sure what they were, and thought they might be salamanders. I’ve just googled them, though, and they were apparently snake-eyed skinks.

I can hardly wait to find out who I’ll see tonight!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 09:03

    Gorgeous snake, at least going from the sample pictures!

Leave a Reply

