Skip to content

new life for old books

July 26, 2011

I’ve been purging my bookshelves to free up some room, so I now have a whole bunch of books that need new homes. Some of them I might be able to sell to Powell’s, but a lot of them are too old or just not what they’re looking for. Last time I tried a more local bookstore, Ukazoo, they didn’t want almost anything I had.

Checking the website of my local library for notice of local library sales led me to BetterWorldBooks.

From their website: Better World Books collects and sells books online to fund literacy initiatives worldwide. With more than 8 million new and used titles in stock, we’re a self-sustaining, triple-bottom-line company that creates social, economic and environmental value for all our stakeholders.

I’ve already sent them (donated)  a box of books (they pay for postage), but I don’t even get a tax credit. On the other hand, I’m sure they can make good use of a bunch of my foreign language dictionaries. ( I’m only keeping my very favorites.)

Another solution I discovered recently, via someone I follow on Tumblr (who lives in Finland), is BookCrossing.com.

From their website:

Breathe new life into books instead of letting your old favorites collect dust – pass them along to another reader. Our online archival and tracking system allows members to connect with other readers, journal and review literature and trade and follow their books as lives are changed through “reading and releasing”. Users are able to tag and track their individual books by marking them with BCIDs (BookCrossing Identity Numbers). Each BCID is unique to each book – once it’s registered on our site, the book can then be followed and journaled forever. BookCrossing is free to join and free to play. So don’t be ‘shelf’ish with your books – read and release!

Tonight I released my very first book;  tomorrow I plan to release more.

I would welcome any suggestions for other ways to recycle old books.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. syfr permalink
    July 31, 2011 09:55

    I am on bookmooch, under a different name. And my local library is collecting for a booksale. And I let my friends pick through.

  2. Amaryllis permalink
    August 1, 2011 06:10

    For a local option, the next time you’re down in Baltimore, The Book Thing still seems to be in business.

    If course, there’s the risk that you might walk out with as many books as you drop off, but there’s always the book drop!

    Also, some of the charities that run thrift shops will accept books.

Leave a Reply

