Skip to content

maps, mystery, and Medeine

July 22, 2011

I’m a geographer. I love maps. But unless I’ve promised to meet someone at a certain place and a certain time, for me a map is a jumping off point. It gives me a general idea what is around me, where interesting meanders or detours might be. But no map can tell me what my experience will be like: what or whom will I encounter? What may I learn? How could I change?

Every night as I walk in darkness, I approach a particular spot. A tree canopy overhangs the sidewalk. Looking sideways, I know there are trees on a hill, but all I see is a stygian void. I feel invited to enter.

This threshold to another world promises transformation. There are no landmarks, nothing to guide by. If I enter, anything could happen.

This is the realm of Medeine.

Medeine is a Lithuanian goddess of forest, but in my experience with her, she is nothing like Artemis. Medeine is the forest, sort of. She is old, wild magic. She is shadows and darkness and not-knowing.

Medeine is what draws me, night after night, to walking in the dark.

I don’t know what she wants of me. There’s no way to ask. I have to live it, and trust that ideas will germinate.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. laura heron permalink
    July 24, 2011 03:37

    Hi Laiimia

    I left a comment on your blog some time ago and you were kind enough to reply. I just wanted to share something with you. i am a aspiring novelist myself, and I have been going through ‘The artist’s way’ that has been transformative in my own practice and life, and given some of your interests, I thought you might enjoy it? Is this too rude to reccommend something to someone I don’t really know? I couldnt see an email, so decided to just comment.

    Laura

    • July 24, 2011 13:13

      Hi Laura,

      I have The Artist’s Way, and I have worked my way partly through the book’s exercises several times, but I’ve never gotten all the way through it. Maybe it’s time for me to try again. Thanks for suggesting it!

Leave a Reply

