Skip to content

weekly walkabout

June 16, 2011

I’m working on another (graphic) design project for ATA, which will be keeping me fairly busy until early next month.

I’ve started a Tumblr blog. I’ve been having a lot of fun with looking for interesting quotes in my daybooks (sort of like journals, but I also make notes on books I’ve read; include to do lists; draw diagrams and sketches; and whatever else seems like a good idea).

I have some ideas for deconstructing my quilt projects, but I haven’t made time yet to clear off my work table in my studio, so I have room to work.

I’ve been thinking a lot about metaphors again. Our language is biased against darkness, which makes it hard to talk about what darkness is good for. I’m struggling with writing about that idea for a piece that may become my first guest post at The Slacktiverse. The piece I thought I would be writing is not the one that wants to be written right now, and I have found myself in some odd and unsettling corners of my mind while thinking it through.

Aries and Taurus (months) were both highly productive, so Gemini has been rather fallow, which has been pleasant. I wonder if things will get busy again for Cancer, or Leo? Ever since I’ve revitalized my relationship with Demeter, I quite enjoy Cancer, and the other water months. But I rarely feel Leo-like during the month of Leo.

I’ve been developing everyday sorts of rituals for my (irregular) spiritual practice. They imbue my weeks with a satisfying rhythm that I don’t think I’ve had before.

A few months ago, I discovered a need for a sacred hearth. I’ve been looking for something earthenware, but have not fallen in love with anything. I’m not entirely sure what I will do with it once I find it, but I’m enjoying the not-knowing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

