Skip to content

bare feet in the snow

March 2, 2011

Thirty-some years ago, I had a dream with unforgettable imagery. It made a deep impression partially because it did not seem possible. It was something marvelous, something that should be possible, but was not.  So I remembered it.

And two weeks ago, probably due to global climate change, my dream happened, more or less. I had dreamed I was playing outside on a warm balmy evening, in summer clothes, but there was also snow on the ground. So the more or less part is that it was daytime, not evening. But there was snow on the ground, and yet, for the first time in weeks, I was not wearing long underwear or my parka. In fact, I was walking around our neighborhood in a summery skirt (and bare legs!), a t-shirt, and a sweater, with no jacket whatsoever.

I walked into the nearby patch of woods. I sat on a bench on the trail, took off my shoes and socks, and walked –very briefly!– in the snow in my bare feet. To celebrate my dream coming true.

A few days later, on another walk in the woods, I again took off shoes and socks. All the snow had melted, but the stream’s (icy cold!) water invited my toes to take a dip. Which they did. And it was magical.

The world is changing, the world changes, and I don’t long for the past. I’m happy to be right where and when I am.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 15:16

    This time of year is my favorite. Your experience evokes memories of a Boy Scout camping trip in early spring. It was too cold for tents, so we rented cabins, but we all ran around barefoot in the snow, and dove into the icy cold lake. Spring takes me back there – I can feel the cold water close over me; I can feel the warm sun drying me off.

Leave a Reply

