Skip to content

early morning ruminations

January 6, 2011

I noticed yesterday that something inside has shifted, and I now feel my own immanent worth at a deep level. Not only that, I asserted it to others in writing in a context where I have often, instead, portrayed myself as someone who is acted upon, rather than someone who acts.

I’ve also asked for help recently, which is something I have great difficulty in doing.

I’m back to wondering what prospects would delight me. I know I need to set goals, I know I need to develop self-discipline. But both of those steps seem almost like punishment. Surely they would be much more palatable if the goals I set for things I felt passionately about? Except every time I try to think of goals that fit that description, my mind goes blank.

Many things continue to seem very hard right now. On the other hand, a year ago, while I was facing a lot fewer challenges, I felt on the verge of despair. I don’t feel that way now. In fact, I’m a bit amazed at the quantum leap my coping skills have taken in one year.

Some part of me wants things to become easier. But I also recognize that if things did become easier right now, without me first making some of the changes I still need to make, I would fall right back into inertia.

My progress in certain life lessons seems almost glacially slow, which is frustrating. But I am making progress. I’m nurturing myself by accepting the path I’m walking and my pace. I’m seeking what new insights can be discovered by mindfully inhabiting the moments I’m living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

