Skip to content

rose path meander

September 3, 2010

My art/design aesthetic seems to be changing. I’ve long had a love-hate relationship with various forms of symmetry, but lately I find bilateral symmetry in particular especially unappealing. And then I looked at my jewelry collection, and decent portion of it exhibited bilateral symmetry. So I got rid of (most of) it.

I’d like to be able to say that I like radial symmetry (because I like sea stars), but I think it’s more accurate to say that I like designs that radiate outward (but are not symmetrical). Because as soon as I think about the symmetry aspect, I don’t like the design as well. (Even snowflakes.) I’m not sure if there is a specific name for four-part symmetry, like a mandala, but I really don’t like it. In fact, I’m kind of squicked by any design with four parts, even if they’re not all equal. As a geographer, I should like the compass rose, but I don’t, primarily because it’s based on the four cardinal directions.

I prefer odd numbers, prime numbers; and organically arranged design elements, rather than grids. Squares and rectangles are easy to work with, but I just can’t get excited about them — they are too regular, they “stack” too neatly, and they don’t create interstitial spaces, so movement cannot be implied.

In the past week, I realized I will probably never use those yarns I have that are solid colors, so most of them have been packed up so I can give them away. I also had some yarns in colorways I would never use, which will also be given away. Same thing with some fabrics. Bonus: I’m decluttering my studio.

Perhaps this new perspective is occurring now because I’ve made sufficient progress in refining my conception of color harmonies, and now it’s time to turn my attention in other directions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 19:35

    It just dawned on me that, while posting from work is verboten, I can always post from my phone. Whee! Of course, that means an oft-ugly combination of small print and no spell-checking.

    This topic is interesting to me at several levels. Have you pondered what might lie behind… not so much the preference for asymmetry, as the revulsion with which symmetric pattens fill you?

    Thanks for the call-out in an earlier post. I’m so very glad the voice-recognition software has freed you from the shackles your pain had forged.

Leave a Reply

