Skip to content

a useful model found…

March 31, 2010

I’ve run across a helpful metaphor for the problem of divergent learning styles I talked about in my 3.13 post: Tour Guides vs. Expedition Leaders (although the linked blog post is actually written for and about solopreneurs, not artists). I only want a “Tour Guide” when I’m a total newbie, but as soon as I have the slightest idea what I’m doing and sort-of-a-grasp of the conventions and standards, I want to join an “Expedition”. I’ve occasionally served as an “Expedition Leader” for others, which I also enjoy.

Classes (I’ve taken) or magazines I’ve subscribed to, are often taught/written by Tour Guides, for the benefit of people who want to follow a well-defined path laid out by experts. All the obstacles have been smoothed out; there should be no surprises (but no epiphanies or revelations either). That’s completely antithetical to my worldview, so I struggle with putting up with it long enough to even learn the basics well enough to go out on my own.

Many people seem to crave certainty, safety, and predictability. If I could know exactly where I’ll be at the end of my life, five years from now, or even six months from now, I wouldn’t want to find out. That sucks all the fun out of it. Heck, if I knew exactly anything about my future, I’d change all sorts of things, just to mix it up, and leave room for Serendipity. Fluid dynamics, emergence, interconnectivity, synchronicity ==> something marvelous.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

