Skip to content

“fragment of the infinite” (time)

December 9, 2009

Being unemployed for long stretches of time, as I’ve been lately, wreaks havoc on my meaningful utilization of time. I’m a [Myers Briggs] P, so I prefer my schedule to be mostly-open-ended, but having no time commitments isn’t good either, because then it becomes hard to get out of bed (or to don “real clothes” rather than pajamas) some mornings.

I have a daily notebook that I use to keep track of many things, including To Do lists, which often have items that roll over. Other things I might add are: notes from books or magazines I’m reading, with my own notes about the text and its implications in different-colored ink; ideas for future creative projects; design elements; books or music I want to purchase; art exhibits I saw and what I thought of them; notes about words of interest and their etymologies; notes or diagrams about the personalities of my coworkers; notes related to my (seemingly-endless) career change process; etc., etc.

What I don’t have in my daily notebook (but sometimes have in a “special occasion” notebook/journal) is anything reminding me of what my overarching priorities are, and how I’m trying to work on them. This evening, I found a blog post that gave me a framework to conceptualize that higher-level of To Do list items:

  • Create
  • Connect
  • Consume (in the “take in and digest information” sense, not shopping)

I believe I’ve been spending far too much time lately reading blog posts and comments, hoping to connect, which is fruitless if I don’t write any comments myself. (See also, hours on Flickr when I’m not actually interacting with anybody.)

A second post from someone else on mindmapping different kinds of time seems like exactly what I need — once I’ve figured out my higher-level priorities, what activities can I do that advance those goals?

*     *      *     *      *     *        *     *      *     *      *     *         *     *      *     *      *     *       *     *      *     *      *     *

I can say that the Adobe InDesign CS4 class that I started taking today (which concludes tomorrow) is awesome, and I can hardly wait to think of a project to create in it so I can practice what I’m learning. Yay, learning!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

