Skip to content

meandering, not grounding

November 27, 2009

It was almost a year ago today that I read about grounding as a regular spiritual practice on Hecate’s blog. It took me a while to actually get around to trying it — I wasn’t sure what I was doing, and the weather in early December didn’t exactly encourage me to stand, motionless, outside for long periods. But I’ve always felt a particular affinity for trees, and so I imagined myself as a tree, and that seemed to work. I enjoyed the experience, but it was a quiet sort of enjoyment (it was not energizing). It was a lot like meditating actually.

I’ve done it a few times since, at least once or twice at the meadow. Warmer weather helped me stay focused better.

But it didn’t feel like something I could see being part of a regular spiritual practice.  Every once in a while, as the occasion seemed to call for it, yes, but not a usual, and certainly not a daily (or even weekly) sort of thing. Which felt like a loss, once I was aware that I could have a regular spiritual practice. If it’s not going to be grounding, what else is possible? And would fit into my life — wouldn’t be onerous or hard to remember to do.

Gradually, I realized something I should’ve seen before. I already have a regular spiritual practice, and I’ve been doing it consistently for about thirty years. I take walks through my neighborhood. I ebb and flow down various paths, looking for what stays the same, and what changes. I get to know my neighbors, most of whom aren’t human. I bear witness to what happens.

And lately, I take a lot of pictures. Yesterday, I got lucky with two amazing shots of migrating geese, one of which is on Flickr. I’ll have to upload the other one too. (The shot I tried for and didn’t get would’ve shown two different sets, widely separated in the sky, but flying in parallel.) I wondered where they were going, and wished I was going along. As I always do when I see someone leave on a journey. I’m an inveterate wanderer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

